“Picture This” At the Toastmasters International Speech Contest

21 05 2012

(L to R) Emmy Jones, District 15 Governor, Deborah Whitman, Contest Toastmaster, Stacy Dymalski, winner District 15 International Speech Contest
(photo by Gary Dufault)

Just this weekend I received my official Toastmasters pictures for winning the Toastmasters International Speech Contest at the District level on May 12th. As promised, I’m sharing one with you all now. (To jog your memory from a previous post, I’ve advanced to the semi-finals, where I’ll go on to compete worldwide at the International Speech Contest in Orlando, Florida, August 15-18.)

Also as promised, I’m sharing a video of my award-winning speech, which is entitled Wynton Marsalis Had My Back. It’s about the first and only time my older son, Derrick, met his idol, legendary jazz trumpet player Wynton Marsalis.

If you aren’t into jazz you may not know who Wynton Marsalis is, so let me enlighten you. Winner of nine Grammy Awards and the first jazz musician to win the Pulizter Prize for music, Wynton Marsalis is the greatest living jazz trumpet player and consistently ranked one of the top 10 jazz trumpet players of all time. He also leads the Lincoln Center Jazz Band, so when he came to Salt Lake City to play a concert at Kingsbury Hall, our good friend Mark Eaton got us backstage after the concert. (Turns out Mark and Wynton are good friends, which is a whole other story). During the course of our brief conversation Mr. Marsalis invited Mark, Derrick, and I to join him at a post-concert reception (which was pretty surreal in and of itself).

Wynton Marsalis

At the reception Derrick decided to ask Mr. Marsalis his advice about an educational/parenting issue on which Derrick and I had argued. We agreed that our difference of opinion would be decided by whatever Mr. Marsalis said. You can tell by the title of my speech the direction in which things swung. But the path to get there is what give this speech its heart.

The video below was taken at the Division contest in Salt Lake City at the Shriner’s Hospital on April 21, 2012, which I had to win before advancing to the District contest (which was my most recent win). They didn’t allow videotaping at the District level competition, so this is not the performance that advanced me to the world semi-finals, but it is the same speech, so at least you can see it.

Enjoy!

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Did you like this post? If so, please click on the banner below to vote for me as a Top Mommy Blogger on TopMommyBlogger.com. I don’t win anything except a higher search engine ranking, plus bragging rights to my kids that I’m not as dorky as they think. (Okay, well maybe I am that dorky, but at least I’ll be easier to find on the Web.)

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Stacy Dymalski is a stand-up comic who gave up the glamorous life of coach travel, smokey comedy clubs, and heckling drunks for the glamourous life of raising kids (who happen to be bigger hecklers than the drunks). This blog is her new stage.

For more of Stacy’s comedy check out her hilarious book Confessions of a Band Geek Mom available in paperback and on Kindle on Amazon.com.


Actions

Information

15 responses

21 05 2012
minndixiemom

Congratulations. I look forward to watch when my kids are fast asleep. As lost as I stay awake until then. What a wonderful experience for you and Derrick! And Mr. Marsalis, I’m sure.

24 05 2012
Stacy Dymalski

Thanks! Yes it was a pretty surreal experience. The concert was on a Monday night, but since we ended up hanging out with the musicians afterward we didn’t get home until 1:30 a.m. Needless to say, Derrick was pretty tired all the next day. But it was totally worth it!

21 05 2012
Dee Macaluso

Rockin it all the way!! You should try stand-up!

24 05 2012
Stacy Dymalski

Maybe someday I will! 😉 How about we go try it together?

21 05 2012
thelaughingmom

What a great story and delivery! I had no idea Toastmasters could be so cool. And, fun to see your blog come to life. Congratulations!

24 05 2012
Stacy Dymalski

Thanks, Terri. Yes, I think Toastmasters is pretty cool. It’s been a great way for me to get back into the public speaking arena after take 15+ years off to raise kids. My plan is to hit the ground running by the time my youngest son graduates from high school, which is in just a few short years!

21 05 2012
creatorofstuff

Love the story, and almost love even more that Derrick gave it a standing ovation.

24 05 2012
Stacy Dymalski

Yes, I must admit he’s a pretty cool kid. But then again, I’m pretty biased. 🙂

22 05 2012
lynnlovesediting

AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME!!!

24 05 2012
Stacy Dymalski

Wow! Thanks, Lynn. That means a lot coming from you! I wish they had allowed cameras into the last competition because I think every time I give this speech I do a little better. But regardless, I’m so glad you enjoyed it!

22 05 2012
Linda Galindo

Oh so many smiles as I watched. It is just too cool that I know you! Remember that when you win the International (no pressure). P.S. Kayla was completely bummed she missed you. She thought I had a boring business meeting on the deck so went straight upstairs.

24 05 2012
Stacy Dymalski

Thanks for your vote of confidence, Linda. I need that now more than ever. And I’m sorry I missed Kayla, too! I would’ve loved to chat with her for a bit. Tell her next time for sure.

22 05 2012
Carol H. Rives

Ok Stacy… no doubt as to why you walked away with the award!!! I caught myself smiling almost the entire time that I was watching the video. When you mentioned that you were taking your first step in letting go, regarding allowing advice from an outsider… I kind of got choked up. It’s hard, but necessary… isn’t it? You definitely know how to tell a story; felt as though I was sitting there watching it all unfold!!! Kudos!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

24 05 2012
Stacy Dymalski

Thank you so much, Carol. Your comment means a lot to me. I have to admit every time I get to that part about letting go I get choked up myself. The biggest part of my practicing this speech is to be able to get beyond that part without breaking down and crying–especially if my kids are in the room. I can’t even look at them when I get to that sentence. I have trained myself to look away, but even then it’s hard. I think that’s why I keep winning with this speech, because everyone can see that I speak from the heart and that my emotions about it are authentic. Honestly, it’s one of my most favorite things I’ve ever written. 🙂

24 05 2012
Carol H. Rives

It shows!

Leave a Reply

