My Mothers Day Win!

13 05 2012

Well, I had an early Mother’s Day gift yesterday in that I won the Toastmasters International Speech Contest at the District level, which means I will go on to compete nationally at the Toastmasters Conference in August in Orlando. There I’ll compete in the semi-finals against the 81 other District winners. If I win this (which granted, is a long shot) then I go on to compete worldwide against the nine top International Speech Contest winners IN THE WORLD. That means I’m only two competitions away from the very top spot. Even if I get eliminated in the semi-finals I can’t believe I’ve come this far.

What was particularly sweet about this win is that my speech is about when my son Derrick met his hero, legendary jazz trumpet player Wynton Marsalis. It’s so nice to be able to take such a poignant piece of my personal history and deliver it in such a way that touches others. Every time I write something close to my heart, I’m always amazed by how many people can relate.

Also, it was a thrill to have my family and several members of my Park City Toastmasters Club there to cheer me on. I was speaker number four out of five, and when I finished my speech, my son, Derrick, gave me a one-man standing ovation. Even though there were about 200 people in the room, no one stood but him during the applause right after my speech…and he didn’t care. The look on his face was sheer pride for his mom. It was truly a Mothers Day gift that will be hard to top—ever.

I will have pictures and a video of my speech later in the week (official press pics haven’t been released yet), but in the mean time I’m spending today fasting and um…purging. You see, two months ago I inadvertently scheduled a colonoscopy for tomorrow morning. By the time I figured it out it was too late to change it. What kind of idiot mom schedules a colonoscopy the day after Mothers Day? Uh, well, that would be me. So excuse me, I need to go take care of business. That’s the humbling dichotomy of being a mom—big winner on Saturday, prepping for a middle-aged procedure on Sunday.

For those of you NOT having colonoscopies tomorrow, have a happy, happy Mothers Day.

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Did you like this post? If so, please click on the banner below to vote for me as a Top Mommy Blogger on TopMommyBlogger.com. I don’t win anything except a higher search engine ranking, plus bragging rights to my kids that I’m not as dorky as they think. (Okay, well maybe I am that dorky, but at least I’ll be easier to find on the Web.)

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Stacy Dymalski is a stand-up comic who gave up the glamorous life of coach travel, smokey comedy clubs, and heckling drunks for the glamourous life of raising kids (who happen to be bigger hecklers than the drunks). This blog is her new stage.

For more of Stacy’s comedy check out her hilarious book Confessions of a Band Geek Mom available in paperback and on Kindle on Amazon.com.


Actions

Information

22 responses

13 05 2012
Rich Crete

Congrats on you big win! Hooray!
When they ask you to confirm what procedure you are having done, tell them in a loud voice “the best colonoscopalooza in town”.

15 05 2012
Stacy Dymalski

Thanks, Rich! I love your “Colonoscopalooza” concept! It could be a speech contest that promotes responsible colon health. I’m sure it will be standing room only (so to speak). 😉

13 05 2012
creatorofstuff

Wow!!! I, of course, knew you had it in you but it’s good to see that everyone else realizes that, too. Congratulations!!!

And really. A colonoscopy? TOMORROW??? That is the problem with these stupid digital calendars. They don’t tell you stuff like “it’s Mother’s Day on Sunday, so don’t go scheduling anything for Monday that might prevent you from being the recipient of a fancy dinner THAT YOU DIDN’T HAVE TO COOK on Sunday”.

15 05 2012
Stacy Dymalski

I know, right? Those digital calendars need to come with all those roving holidays preprogramed. I had to book the darn thing two months out, and I can’t even plan dinner before it happens, let alone an appointment two months away. Oh well. Just gives me a reason to claim the men in this house still owe me a dinner!

15 05 2012
creatorofstuff

Work it, baby, work it. Make sure you get that dinner!

13 05 2012
thelaughingmom

Congratulations! Now you actually have a legitimate excuse to hide in the bathroom from your kids.

15 05 2012
Stacy Dymalski

Now if I can only come up with a good health-related reason where they have to cook dinner for me every night, keep their rooms picked up, and stay on top of their laundry, then I’d be golden!

13 05 2012
Dee Macaluso

Hope you knock the next one out of the park too!!

15 05 2012
Stacy Dymalski

My next colonoscopy? Well, that’s five years away, but thanks anyway. Yes, I hope I knock that one out of the park, as well. 😉

14 05 2012
Michelle at Motley News

Congratulations! Looking forward to the pix and video. That really is great, and your son giving you a standing ovation all by himself… that really is the best.

And a colonoscopy tomorrow? That’s the shits…. (oh, ouch… groan)

15 05 2012
Stacy Dymalski

I live for groaners, Michelle. They’re never wasted on me! And yes, the whole thing was the shits, both literally and metaphorically, but at least I don’t have to it again for a while. My colonoscopy, like my speech, had a happy ending!

14 05 2012
David Bullock

It’s noon on Monday and I’ll bet that you are “Pooped Out.” We are so proud of you for two reasons. The first being the absolute best speaker on Saturday and second, for being such a good example and getting a Colonoscopy.

Dave and Cathy

15 05 2012
Stacy Dymalski

Thanks, Dave. It was so great to have you and Cathy there to cheer me on…at my speech, I mean, not my colonoscopy. Actually, the audience at my colonoscopy was much more sedate, including me.

14 05 2012
Phillip

Stacy “The Lip” Dymalski”

Too bad I didn’t read your post yesterday. I would have told you to get as much Demerol as they would give up! You probably already know that.

Phillip aka eggsuckingpup

15 05 2012
Stacy Dymalski

Yes, Phillip, the only good thing about the actual colonoscopy itself is the drugs they give you. That was the best nap I’ve had in a long time! It pretty much lasted until this morning!

15 05 2012
Carol H. Rives

Stacy…. Congratulations on your wonderful recognition! I hope all is well on the other end, so to speak. Seems to me that your guys just need to extend your Mother’s Day, so that you can enjoy a nice meal…. one that has exquisite flavor and a texture other than that of liquid. Been there, done that and I must say… never so happy to eat a fast-food burger and then sleep the afternoon away!!!!!!!!

15 05 2012
Stacy Dymalski

Yes, Carol, the dichotomy of the weekend was surreal. I am going to use this as an excuse for some extra pampering real soon.

And yes, everything with the colonoscopy came out (literally) just fine. Don’t have to go through that ickiness again for a while. Middle-age is SO MUCH fun.

16 05 2012
MJ, Nonstepmom

This is sooo wonderful ! I apologize, I am not getting your new posts on my “reader” – i need a better system to keep up !

16 05 2012
Stacy Dymalski

No worries, MJ! I know you’re busy (aren’t we all!). Just stop by when you can. I always love it when you post a comment. BTW, I’ve been enjoying your blog, too. I’m always excited to read what you have to say when I see our blog name show up in my inbox!

18 05 2012
Ruth2Day

what a wonderful blog. no jokes aside, I got all teary-eyed when I thought of your son and his ovation 🙂

18 05 2012
Stacy Dymalski

I know what you mean. There’s actually one part in my speech when I talk about having to “let go” as a parent that I have to fight back tears every time. I always get choked up at that part and just pray I don’t break down in front of everyone and cry. So when I saw him stand at the end of my speech I quietly left the stage, sat down and had my own private, mini meltdown. Thank goodness there was one more speaker to go before they announced the winner. I had about seven minutes to pull myself together.

Thanks for your comment! I really appreciate your sincere input. 🙂

18 05 2012
creatorofstuff

I would have, too, had I been there. Derrick is truly one of the sweetest kids I have ever known. I can just picture it!

Leave a Reply

