My Win at Toastmasters (Or Why I Prefer Toastmasters Over Smokey Bars)

5 03 2012

I have a bit of good news to share. Recently I won the Toastmasters International Speech Contest at the Park City, UT, Club level, which means I go on to complete at the Area level on March 24. Then if I win there I’ll compete in (and have to win) four more increasingly BIGGER levels to get to the final International competition. It’s a lot of steps to climb to get to the top, but it’s fun because it allows me to get in front of sober audiences without first having to arm wrestle other comedians for valuable stage time.

Ironically, public speaking (especially comedy) isn’t something you can perfect alone. You need an audience to let you know if you’re good or not (and believe me, they let you know). But in the case of Toastmaster speech contests, the audience members who attend actually WANT to listen to the speakers. Plus, there’s never a blender running in the background while a bartender mixes Margaritas, nor does anyone onstage ever have to shout over a bouncer trying to evict a drunk heckler on open mic night. What a concept. I love it.

Mom jeans with a wide-angle lens (a visual of how I feel after eating a bag of potato chips)

Even though I’m thrilled to be on the first rung of this long ladder I have to admit it’s not my first Toastmaster win. Last year I competed in the Toastmasters Humorous Speech Contest with a speech entitled Mom Jeans, and made it to the very top level. Now don’t get too excited because for the Humorous Speech Contest the head honchos at Toastmasters only allow the competition to go as high as the District level (eliminating the top two Regional and International competitions). But that does mean I won at the Club, Area, and Division levels, so that I guess that counts for something.

I was actually starting to get a little full of myself, what with winning all those fancy trophies, until I lost in the final round (there were only five of us left at that point). A young man who talked about the travails of being the only guy in a houseful of females (his young daughter sounded like quite a character) won. Good golly, how am I supposed to compete against a cute father in a designer suit who caters to his wife and adorable daughter? All I had to share was my humbling experience of trying to fit my expanding, middle-aged rear end into a pair of designer jeans. And lamenting over the fact that no matter what size I buy, the jeans of today are so tight I end up with butt cleavage all the way to my shoulder blades. Yeah, that’s a good look.

So in honor of my most recent public speaking victory, I thought I’d share my 2011 Toastmaster Humorous Speech Competition awarding-winning speech Mom Jeans speech with you. And since a picture is worth a 1,000 words (in this case literally) here is the video of me giving my speech at the Division Level in Salt Lake City (which I won).

Enjoy!

_________________________________________________________________________________

Did you like this post? If so, please click on the banner below to vote for me as a Top Mommy Blogger on TopMommyBlogger.com. I don’t win anything except a higher search engine ranking, plus bragging rights to my kids that I’m not as dorky as they think. (Okay, well maybe I am that dorky, but at least I’ll be easier to find on the Web.)

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Stacy Dymalski is a stand-up comic who gave up the glamorous life of coach travel, smokey comedy clubs, and heckling drunks for the glamourous life of raising kids (who happen to be bigger hecklers than the drunks). This blog is her new stage.

For more of Stacy’s comedy check out her hilarious book Confessions of a Band Geek Mom available in paperback and on Kindle on Amazon.com.


Actions

Information

20 responses

5 03 2012
Rich Crete

Fantabulous bit Stacy! Kick some more Toastmaster ass this year!

5 03 2012
Stacy Dymalski

Thanks, Rich! Maybe I’ll do so wearing “Mom Jeans.” How apropos would that be? 😉

5 03 2012
David

I love you more than ever,
because you realize the difficulty of winning against those who have their backers in their ‘back’ pocket. Thus, if you had had those backers in your back pocket you would have had more booty which would have made you look soooo much better than a’ natural. Best of luck to you…..Remember e = mc2, which is really hard to write on a computer. perhaps I should have spelled “squared” which is what most mom butts look like. Check out the Grandma Butt’s too, they are much more rounded. There is still time for you.

5 03 2012
Stacy Dymalski

Thanks, David. I appreciate the support. Yes, competing at the higher levels can be tricky, as you well know. I look forward to seeing how far I can take this, but even if I’m eliminated early, it’s still quite a ride. Plus, where else can you talk about your rear end in polite company AND win a trophy for it?

5 03 2012
creatorofstuff

You go, girl. I know you’ve got wins in you all the way to the TOP! Just don’t be wearing those mom jeans anywhere near HERE, girlfriend. Oh, and promise to tell me if my jeans fit the mom jean category, God forbid. I’ve got enough problems trying to maintain the cool factor when I’m actually a frumpy middle aged…oh never mind.

5 03 2012
Stacy Dymalski

Honestly, nobody can rock a pair of mom jeans like a middled aged hot mama. Just ask one of my teenaged sons…and then watch him dry heave while running out the door.

5 03 2012
speakersgold

Congratulations! Was the sales girl really Lavender?

5 03 2012
Stacy Dymalski

Actually, she was more “pinkish” in color, however, her name really was Lavender. I think these sales girls in Nordstrom change their names for career purposes. So “Sage,” “Paisley,” and “Chartreuse” were really born Bonnie Sue, Mildred, and Francis (all fine names, BTW).

6 03 2012
speakersgold

funny. lavender and sage both goes great cooked with rabbit. You can have Chartreuse (the drink) and the side.

6 03 2012
Dee Macaluso

Nordstrom is missing out on a whole market segment. Mom’s shop too, even if it’s only the clearance items.

14 03 2012
Stacy Dymalski

I love Nordstrom, but as you know I’ve become more of a thrift shop girl lately. I prefer that term over “bag lady.”

7 03 2012
MJ, Nonstepmom

Fab job – “Lavender” was not prepared for you ! I’ve found a good comprimise, Old Navy – they’re inexpensive and comfy and I’ve gotten compliments. Hope you post more of these as you go !

14 03 2012
Stacy Dymalski

Thanks, MJ, for your kind words about my blog post! I really appreciate you taking the time to read my blog and then commenting.

Yes, I totally agree with you. Old Navy, the Gap, and even resale shops are the places to go. You save money and I think you end up looking just as good. But I have to admit, since I work mostly at home now, there are some days I never get out of my sweats. I’m all about comfort these days, which can be unfortunate for anyone who has to see me shuffling around the house with my cup of coffee. This is why I need corporate speaking engagements once in a while. It forces me to shower and get dressed. 😉

8 03 2012
shoes

LOL! Love it. Great job, I look forward to hearing about your future wins.

8 03 2012
Stacy Dymalski

Thanks! And thanks for following my blog from nearly the beginning. You were one of my (very few and) very first followers. Means a lot to me since I LOVE your blog.

8 03 2012
shoes

Wow, I am glad I got in on the ground floor! I love your blog and am glad you enjoy mine.
I wanted to congratulate you on being Freshly Pressed – that is fantastic!! 🙂 Please keep doing what you are doing.

8 03 2012
tmso

Good speech. Good luck with this year’s competition.

14 03 2012
Stacy Dymalski

Thanks! I’ll keep you posted.

And thanks for reading my blog and commenting. I means a lot to me! 🙂

9 03 2012
Adam

Congratulations on your victory! After you came to Treasure Mountain Junior High on Thursday, it’s easy to believe that you won, given that the speech you delivered to me and several other students was definitely inspiring. I wanted to let you know that I mentioned you and linked out to your blog on my own blog this week! It would be awesome if you could check it out and comment, which you can do here- asnyder15.edublogs.org

10 03 2012
Stacy Dymalski

Thanks, Adam. I did check out your blog and I love it. I recommend anyone who sees this comment and loves indie music evaluated with a fresh point of view do the same. Click on this link right away: asnyder15.edublogs.org.

Good luck! I look forward to becoming a regular reader of your work.

Leave a Reply

